On a serious note: Army

My mother always said that in our family we don’t marry anyone in the army. Considering the fact my grandfather was a prisoner of war for 4 years during the Bangladeshi Liberation War in Pakistan, I understood her position. Her family had a very negative impression of the armed forces.

In a few of my classes, we discussed the need and role of a professional army and its implication.

Few days ago, American Marines urinating on dead Talibans caught  the media’s attention. And now there is a new video out of a few Indian Border guards brutally torturing a alleged cow theif/smuggler who is a Bangladeshi. The man is beaten, his clothes were taken off….I haven’t been able to see the video till its end. I am embedding the full youtube link, but I don’t know how it will stay there as the video has already been flagged. The sound captured in mostly hindi….but the images of violence and torture are universal.

 

Is there a connection between being part of an armed force and brutality? What happens to their humanity? Is the power they hold because they can legally carry weapons? Or is it the training they go through that makes them so inhumane? What happens to them?

I wish we could live in a world without the need for a professional army.

5 responses to “On a serious note: Army

  1. It is so cruel and inhuman. Noone has rights to treat another person like that. I couldn’t watch the whole thing.

    On another note, I was watching this film called Life in a day (I have a post in my blog) and there is a clip of an army wife who Skyped with her husband and had tears in her years when it was over. For some reason, it reminded me of some of your post. Hope things are going good with you. Take care!!!

    • I am sure there are nice people within the armed forces…there has to be!

      Compared to the army wives, I think I am in a much better situation. I don’t have to constantly worry about his safety (disregarding the time when he did a stint in Afghanistan). I can call him anytime, I can talk to him whenever I want to. Things are going well….busy with life…and hubby is making a small trip to visit me next month!

  2. I was absolutely horrified when I saw this footage earlier this week. Just like nepaliaustralian, I could not bear to watch the entire thing.

    I wish I knew Hindi so I could know what they are saying to him, but according to the English-language commentary following the leak of this video on http://indianmilitarynews.wordpress.com/2012/01/19/bsf-brutality-caught-on-video/, the border guards are saying things such as “hit him on the knees” and later another guard says “bring some tea.” My blood is absolutely boiling.

    The worst part is that people are crossing the border with their cattle from Bangladesh to India daily, and this unlucky man was singled out and beaten to be used as an example, and because he couldn’t afford the bribe. This means that border guards don’t care about the law, they don’t care about people. They just care about making money off of bribes. When one refuses or is too poor to afford a bribe they get treated like this.

    The duty of law enforcement officials is to protect the people, and to enforce the law. But the punishment must fit the crime, otherwise it is just an unjust act of cruelty.

  3. Thanks for this post. I’m totally with you. I wish we didn’t have to live in world with professional armies either. I live in a town with a strong military presence, and have met some great army guys. But let’s be honest, if you’re a soldier, you’re trained to kill. Brutality might not be common in national militaries (or maybe it is?), but it’s not entirely unexpected either…it’s all pretty sad.

    • I have a friend who works for the US Army. He is a awesome guy, a great brother and a very caring husband. He is pretty much a great guy. One day we were talking about his tour of duty in Afghanistan where he worked as a medic. He was primed in such a way that he could not consider the Afghan people as human beings. He was always concerned about his safety as he had seen his comrades die.

Leave a Reply! I love to hear back from the reader!

