Hello world!

I decided not the change the title of this post since I am literally saying hello to the world (well, to a small community in the blogging world).  As I finished my MA a few months ago and ended up having a lot of free time (living by myself because of a long distance relationship and part time employment), I started to read loads of blogs on relationships, on food, on recipes, on just random stuff.  I was quite intrigued and mesmerized by the idea of having an online community. So, here I will be treading the waters now!

So here is snippet of my life:

I am in mid-twenties from a country in South Asia but living in Canada now.  I have two MAs and underemployed. One husband. No kids (yet). My family lives back home. My husband works in West Africa.

I love to read, to write and of course to cook! I hope to share some recipes and pictures soon! I have lived in Southern and Western Africa and the US. I try to think of myself a global citizen.  But my husband jokingly calls me a even more confused ABCD (American Born Confused Desi) since I don’t fit in anywhere. This years marks the tenth anniversary of me being an expat. In a sense, I am writing to make sense of my identity, my national ties and my citizenship too.

With the promise to write often, good night world!

9 responses to “Hello world!

  1. Wow…what a huge distance between you two. I wouldn’t worry too much about being an ABCD. You fit into your life and with those around you. That’s all you need to fit into. You are who your life has made you and since there really is no true “normal” that makes you perfect the way you are.

  2. Hi there! Came across one of your comments, are you Bengali? I’ve recently started a blog (my husband’s Bengali)
    http://www.masalabou.wordpress.com

  3. Glad you like the blog!

    A real live Bengali! Hurrah! If you have any tips with the language, feel free to post on my language blog http://www.mybangladiary.wordpress.com

    Why are you not in West Africa? Where is your husband from?

  4. I’ve added you to my blogroll

  5. There’s a great a online community of bloggers. Welcome to the club! 🙂

Leave a Reply! I love to hear back from the reader!

